DJ Girl 6

This show will mark the beginning of her residency at Plush so it will be filled with custom made VIDEO REMIXes especially and exclusively for this launch!   These mixes will be projected over Plush’s one-of-a-kinda LED/Video wall behind the DJ booth. This show promises to be filled with comedic movie clips, bangin’ audio remixes and dramatic pauses with heart stopping suspense-filled hairpin turns! 

 

dj girl 6

 

DJ GIRL 6 is one of the first commercial video remixers on the scene, period.  Her clever and thought-provoking use of wordplay and movie clips won her one of the first video remixer spots on www.crooklynclan.net where she remains the only female to date.  The driving force behind Miss 6’s trailblazing is simple – she’s damn good!   The simple fact is both her production and performances alike are a manifestation of a lifetime of experience.  After 10 years of perfecting her craft, the manner in which she commands the tools at her fingertips has become nothing short of sorcery.  This time-tested talent has won her a place in the hearts of A-list celebrities who began demanding her as their opening act or touring DJ (See Bragging Rights).  As anyone can tell from this small taste of her extensive resume, DJ GIRL 6’s notoriety is well-earned, as her Vegas-style sets will have you dancing to everything from Elton John to Lil’ Jon!

Also Played with: Janet Jackson,  Joan Jett, Paul Wall, Travis Barker/DJ AM, Mims, Aerosmith,  and more!

 

G6_Cyborg

 

Still want to know MORE?!?!  Here are some fun facts about DJ Girl 6 

 

1. What are the origins of your name “Girl 6”?

                My bio says.. and I quote:

 In Spike Lee’s movie “Girl 6,” the lead character (a phone sex operator) used a number instead of her name to remain anonymous.  DJ GIRL 6, on the other hand, is far from anonymous, adopting the moniker because the movie reminded her of the harsh realities behind going “all in” to pursue your dreams.  Harsh realities aside, DJ GIRL 6 has fought her way to the cutting edge of DJ techniques and technology, blazing trails for others to follow for just over ten years now.

Short answer: it’s a Spike Lee Joint J – Girl 6 is a character who struggles with what role sexuality plays/should play in her life as an entertainer.  It’s a pretty deep and dicey issue really.  Personally, I can’t stand tits and ass DJs with no talent.  On the other hand, I hate being mistaken for one by judgmental and superficial people who close their clubs, doors, minds and ears to me giving no opportunity for the separation of fact from fiction.

 

 

2. How did you get into DJing then producing?

                        When I was about 15 I worked as a hotel maid to buy my then-boyfriend turntables and a mixer, only to be dumped the day before his birthday.  I then spent the next few weeks scratching “f*ck you” into his parents’ answering machine.  Want to know where he ended up? Kinko’s in Redding, CA (I looked it up!).  

I’ve always had strong sense of rhythm timing and musical ability.  I never needed programs like “Mixed in Key” or bpm counters to know how to program, everything just all came together very naturally for me.  I kept dancing professionally for a long time but got into a very bad car accident in 1999 and had to quit entirely in 2004. 

Producing wasn’t as organic for me to learn because computer programs felt very foreign and unnatural to me at first. I learned on Reason and Acid.  I hired students from the local arts college to teach me the basics then freestyled it from there.  My first legitimate project was making official mash-ups and house remixes for Sir Mix A Lot himself.  No pressure!!!  He is very meticulous and frankly the project burned me out on producing audio for a while!  The good news is: I won an award for my production and he was very happy with the results.  So happy that he hired me to be his tour DJ on the Baby Got Back to School Campaign, DJing with headliners like Aerosmith, Maroon 5, Gloria Estefan, Earth Wind and Fire and more!

 

 

3. IS VJing really that much harder than DJing?

                        VJing is only as challenging as you want it to be.  You can upload a bunch of plain videos, engage your Serato plug in, never even look at the screen and just DJ as usual.  However the majority of my videos are custom made, balancing a series of factors:

  1. I steer clear of material that people just want to STARE at. I use fun concert footage, movie clips, footage that accentuates the club’s lighting etc.
  2. Drama/Comedy: What is the point of having videos if you don’t insert the occasional dramatic pause? For example, I love playing my Natalie Portman Rap v. the Family Guy or the Kanye West Douche Bag Remix.  When you are just doing audio…it simply does not have the same impact.  Every once in a while you can just drop quotes like “If You Don’t Like Big Red Then Fuck You” (from Talladega Nights) and watch everyone laugh!  Again, never long enough to disrupt your dance floor.   Get a good laugh and get out!
  3. My golden rule of VJing however is: the AUDIO CONTROLS.  Always play the right song for the right moment!!! NEVER play a cool video where the audio sucks just so you can show off how cool your EFX are.

Sooo I’m way off topic.  You can spend as little or as much time as you like on video.  To do it right is pretty hard to be honest.  I really don’t think there is any point to just playing the video of the song.  If you are not taking advantage of the fact that you have the visual medium – then don’t bother.  And if you are, it means that you’ve taken the time to learn to remix videos, learn the appropriate cropping, quality, codecs and so on…which means you’ve made a substantial investment of time = yes meaningful VJing posses a substantial challenge.  

 

 

4. Does being a female DJ have any advantages over being a male DJ?

                        Talk about loaded questions!  Keeping in mind that being a female DJ will also keep you out of a ton of venues… yes, I’m sure there are days when club owners want an all female line up and come calling.  However, many female DJs prefer to be known for substance over sex and turn these gigs down.  I feel that the new trend of touring female DJs is to refrain from being pigeon holed as a “female” DJ and attempt to be judged on the content of their performance.  I’m fairly confident that Kuttin Kandi, Tina T and myself fall into that category.  On the other hand, Djs like Shortee, who is clearly a world renowned force to be reckoned with, prefers to be viewed as supportive and still partakes in all female events.  At the end of the day, it’s a double-edged sword and if given the choice I’d shed the benefit and the burden.

 

 

5. Most Eventful/Largest shows?

                         Mandalay Bay Events Center seats 12,000 for Janet Jackson in 2008:

How did it feel? It was freaking awesome! I was the OFFICIAL OPENING ACT! That is an adrenaline rush!  When I came out on stage everyone freaked out and, unlike at the club, every little tiny gesture I made was grounds for screaming.  I’m an adrenaline junkie so I instantly fell in love.  They pretty much had to drag me off that stage.

MGM Grand Garden Arena 17,000:  I played for the Jonas Brothers as well, however, the sound of the little girls screaming constantly felt like little bees stinging me in my ear drums.  I instantly got a migraine as soon as I got backstage.  Before the show, I received several calls from different managers emphasizing how I was not to play ANY dirty music or adult themes.  The whole time I’m thinking to myself “how did these people get my number?”  “Have they even seen my picture??”  “I’m not exactly the poster child for young tweens!!!”  This was kind of a nightmare gig to be honest.

Target Center: 20,000: This was the Baby Got Back to School gig and we played after Aerosmith. Really dude??? Who wants to play after Aerosmith??? That’s a hard act to follow!  I sure don’t!!!  Mix A Lot is an extremely loveable and approachable guy.  I TOLD him NOT to jump in the crowd because he had never played in the area before and he would get crushed.  He did it anyways… and so… he got crushed.  Outside of that it was amazing to see so many legendary stars collaborating and just hanging out backstage – the line up and green rooms looked like the Grammy’s.

 

6. What’s in store for 2010? 

                  Performing wise I just picked up 3 new residencies: Casbah in Atlantic City, Plush in Dallas and EyeCandy in Las Vegas (Mandalay Bay).

 New Project mauhahahaha: I’m working on a performance piece/special EFX show entitled SINulation Overload that launches on December 5th, 2009 at the Casbah – but will begin touring in 2010.  The show is based on the premise that a club goer creates an iPhone app that uploads the “perfect DJ.”  While at the club, he plugs it into the mixer and a cyborg DJ is then uploaded into the DJ booth (me, G6) and all the dancers follow suit.  The fun part about it is the special effects they use to upload me, make my look like a hologram/cyborg, create technical errors, my eyes glow like a robot, monitor audience “SINulation” throughout the evening, I even disappear at times, etc.  Some of the props sound pretty uncomfortable but …I’m going with it…for now!  Some of the technology was even developed by N.A.S.A.!  I’m really looking forward to it!  I can guarantee you have never seen anything like it.  My producer, Ian Herrington worked on some of Michael Jackson’s show EFX, as well as the Robotics and EFX used in Perfecto at Rain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


